Chris Jooste won the 2023 Cape Town Cycle Tour in emphatic fashion on Sunday, 12 March - Cape Town Cycle Tour

Chris Jooste won the 2023 Cape Town Cycle Tour in emphatic fashion on Sunday, 12 March

The TufoBMC rider showed his class to outsprint Andries Nigrini (TEG), Jaedon Terlouw (Honeycomb), and Daniel Loubser to claim the title in a time of 02:36:14. 

“This is the pinnacle of the sport in South Africa,” Jooste commented after the finish. “I’m thrilled with the win.” According to Jooste, he knew there was a rare chance for the breakaway to stay away when they managed to open the gap into a headwind. “With such strong riders in the break, things fell into place. I knew that if we kept up the speed and our confidence, victory would be ours.”

The Men’s Elite racing category over the iconic 109km coastal route around the Cape Peninsula produced some intense and exciting moments. The weather on the day was ideal for racing, with sunny conditions and a light southeasterly breeze. The mint conditions made for a few characteristic early attacks, but all the big teams worked to bring it all back together. Up the deceptively tough Smitswinkel climb, five riders got off the front and forged the break. The five stayed together until Hout Bay when Nick James (DMS) dropped back. “That’s when the realisation kicked that we were going to go to the finish, and a podium was a potential,” said Andries Nigrini (TEG), who finished second behind Jooste. 

The breakaway didn’t always seem to work together in consistent fashion, with the youthful Loubser doing the bulk of the work. With no other teammates in the break, he seemed to forge something of an allegiance with Jooste, whose experience was evident throughout.

Cape Town native and fourth-place finisher Daniel Loubser expressed his elation at completing the race unscathed, stating, “I am overjoyed to have had a smooth ride and crossed the finish line in one piece.” Loubser’s knowledge of the course proved invaluable to his fellow breakaway riders, as he was able to read the ever-changing conditions and offer crucial insights. He helps guide the four by sharing vital information about wind patterns and optimal feeding locations to help them maintain their lead. Loubser’s strategic advice undoubtedly played a key role in their success.

The chasing bunch got organised up Chapman’s Peak, driven by DMS. They were closely watched by the team of Honeycomb, who were represented by Terlouw up front. In Honeycomb’s ranks was defending champion Marc Pritzen (although riding in the colours of his team Team EF Education-NIPPO Development). However, the bunch left it too late and couldn’t bring back the breakaway.

“I kicked a bit too early,” commented third-placed Terlouw, explaining how he saw the main bunch coming back. “I got a bit nervous there and went out as hard as I could but couldn’t hold out. That was my first time in a breakaway, and I learned a lot,” he said. 

Speaking after the race, Jooste expressed his delight at what is undoubtedly the biggest win of his career. “This is an incredible feeling,” he said. “I’ve won every age category since u/12, so this is amazing.”

The Cape Town Cycle Tour is one of the world’s most iconic cycling events, attracting thousands of participants and spectators each year. The Men’s Elite racing category is just one of the many highlights of the race, which also includes elite and age group categories for women, hand cyclists, and tandem riders. The event this year also debuted the inclusion of a 42km route. 

The event organizers expressed their satisfaction with the outcome of a cycling celebration, praising the participants for their skill and endurance. “The Cape Town Cycle Tour is a celebration of cycling and the human spirit,” said David Bellairs, Director of the Cape Town Cycle Tour. “The Women’s and Men’s elite categories were a true testament to the passion and dedication of these athletes, and we are proud to have them as part of our event.” 

1. Chris Jooste: TufoBMC 02:36:14

2. Andries Nigrini: TEG (st)

3. Jaedon Terlouw: Honeycomb (st)

4. Daniel Loubser: Cycling Friends (st)

5. Gert Heyns: Valley Electrical (st)

Cape Town Cycle Tour Strava Club

© Cape Town Cycle Tour 2024 - All Rights Reserved | Website Terms and Conditions of Use | Race Entry Terms and Conditions | General Terms

Website design by KNOWN